Dear past me!

I thought of writing a letter to my past self and so I thought I would publish it also. If you could talk to your past self, what would you say? 

Dear 11 year old Laura, 

It gets easier! I know it seems like everything is getting so difficult right now, you are starting a new school and leaving behind some good friends, but you do make new ones and are very thankful for them. It is an awkward phase of life as you prepare for your teenage years ahead and all the mix of emotions and new experiences you are going to face. I can promise you do get through it, maybe not quite as gracefully as we hope. 

Don’t hold onto friendships too tightly as there are only a small number of people you need in your life and that is okay! You will have heartache, you will cause heartache and you will learn from any mistakes you make. 

The person we are now at 26 years old is a completely different person than the one you are, and that is okay. You face the world with such enthusiasm, optimism and naivety, you have to do so to get to where your going. Not to say i do not have optimism now just a stronger sense of reality. 

You are going to meet someone in a few years time, maybe not in a conventional way, but they are going to be someone who stills remains an important part of our life to this day. Someone you will be friends with for years to come, someone you trust and respect and even though you have a few years where you don’t remain in contact, he will come back into your life and you will realise why. Keeping my fingers crossed that my optimism doesn’t fail me on this one.

Cherish the memories, laugh until you cry and go into the world with your head held high, as it’s not as bad as you think it’s going to be. You have to weather the storm to see the rainbow and weathering a few storms is definitely what we do. It seems like the worst pain you could go through at the time but it never is. 

I guess all I have left to say is just be yourself, the right people will accept you as you are and learn to love you. 

You can do this! 

From me! 

X


Leave a Reply

